Navigate Up
Sign In

Medical Council

Mission Statement:

The Medical Council strives at safeguarding patients’ rights and safety...  by protecting, promoting and maintaining the health of the general public... by ensuring proper standards in the practice of Medicine... as well as by safeguarding the values and integrity of the Medical and Dental professions....  
The Medical Council’s statutory functions are defined in the Health Care Professions Act (HCPA) 2003, Cap. 464 of the Laws of Malta, which abides by the EU Directive 2005/36/EC.
Composition of the Medical Council: 
President (Appointed by the Prime Minister from 20th September 2017 to 20th September 2020)
Dr Ilona Debono B.A., LL.D., Adv.Trib.Eccl.Melit., M.A.(Melit.)
(Appointed by the Prime Minister from 21st September 2017 to 20 September 2020)
Dr Pauline Vassallo B.Ch.D., D.D.P.H.(R.C.S.), M.Sc., MBA, FFPH
Member (Appointed by the University of Malta from 14th October 2019 to 14th October 2022)
Dr Daniel Farrugia M.D. (Malta), DEAA, EDIC
Members (Elected by Medical Practitioners from 9th July 2019 to 8th July 2022)
Dr Michael J. Boffa M.D., F.R.C.P.(Lond.), F.R.C.P.(Edin), M.Sc.(Derm.)(Lond.), D.Derm.(Lond.), D.G.U.M.(Lond.)
Dr Ian Baldacchino M.D., M.R.C.P.
Dr Doreen Cassar M.D., Dip. W.H., Dip. PC & GP, M.M.C.F.D.
Dr Joseph Cassar M.D., P.D.F. Psych.
Dr Tanya Melillo Fenech M.D.., M.Sc., PhD.
Members (Elected by Dental Surgeons from 9th July 2019 to 8th July 2022)
Dr Anthony Charles B.Ch.D.
Dr David Muscat B.D.S.
Members Representing the Public
(Appointed by the Prime Minister from 20th October 2017 - 19th October 2020)
Mr Philip Borg Ph.Lic., S.Th.B., Dip.Soc.Sc
(Appointed by the Prime Minister from 21st September 2017 to 20th September 2020)
David Caruana, Dip. in Educ. (Adult), B.A., PG Dip. in Educ. (Adm. and Mgt.), M.Ed.
Mr Arthur Camilleri
Ms Joanne Vella
Ms Lara Sultana